RSS

Pirozhki

31 Mar

Pirozhki with cabbage, apple and paprika puree, topped with sour cream and thyme.

Pirozhki are a small pasty like savoury which are popular in Russia, Ukraine and Polan, although there are similar dishes all over the world. They are made with a sweetened yeast dough, which is filled and brushed with egg to give a beautiful golden glaze. I have served them here with an apple, cabbage and paprika puree, which has been topped with sour cream and thyme. The Pirozhki themselves are filled with chicken and walnuts flavoured with more paprika and sour cream and some Dijon mustard.

What I found interesting is that there is a Japanese equivalent called Piroshiki. This version is deep fried in Panko breadcrumbs. This is exciting for me because it comes from the very heart of what inspires me about cooking and food as a cultural experience. The Table Without Borders is all about understanding diversity and influence, the Piroshiki will now find a place on our Kawa (River) menu and so we begin to create menus without borders.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2012 in Posts

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Pirozhki

  1. ~jOyce

    March 31, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    okay, this just makes me super hungry.

     
  2. jlinketraveller

    April 4, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    Ate something uber similar in Estonia some time ago. Most delicious! Thanks for giving me this tasty reminder of olde times!

     
    • bendyskitchen

      April 12, 2012 at 6:09 pm

      Please feel free to share any other little morsels you come accross on your travels. I saw the blog on Croatian coffee and it reminded me that I must have a bash at the coffee custards that are popular as a Russian dessert.

       

Leave a comment